Fairmead School

Making memories


The Board of Governors is made up of ten governors:

  • Four Co-opted governors
  • One Local Authority governor
  • Three Parent governors
  • One Staff governor
  • One Headteacher



  • Curriculum & Achievement (Chair: Mrs Sharon Chorley)
  • Finance & Premises (Chair: Mr David Bakewell)
  • Personnel & Safeguarding (Chair: Mrs Amanda Purchase)
  • Pay
  • Headteacher's Performance Management


Committee membership:  All governors (excluding Staff governor) sit on the Curriculum & Achievement, Finance & Premises and Personnel & Safeguarding committee.  The Staff governor sits only on the Curriculum & Achievement committee.  The Chair of Governors and Chairs of the other committees (excluding Staff governor) sit on the Pay committee and two governors (excluding Staff governor) sit on the Headteacher's Performance Management committee.


The Chair of the Board of Governors for the 2020/21 academic year is Mr David Bakewell - contactable through the Clerk to the Governors via the school).


David Bakewell, Chair of the Board of Governors



Mandy Purchase, Vice Chair of Board of Governors, Safeguarding Governor



Fairmead Board of Governors September 2020